It’s Complex

Sunday, my husband and I had dinner at the restaurant where our new son-in-law cooks.  We ordered crab cakes, which he prepared for us with a wonderful salsa, that consisted of corn, spinach and bacon. (hope I’m not giving away any secrets, Wade!)  My husband’s favorite TV chef would say the flavors were complex.  I’d just say they were yummy!

Complex.  That word describes what our family is becoming.  We’re learning to love our daughter’s husband. Our son’s girlfriend is a wonderful young woman who may become our daughter-in-law. (did I say that?)  Along with these new members come their extended families, who are now becoming a part of ours.   What a mixture of backgrounds, personalities, and histories! At times, I find myself having to stretch out of my natural comfort zone to welcome these virtual strangers into my life.  While we haven’t encountered any major conflicts yet, I’m not naive enough to think that will never happen.  In addition, God willing, we’ll soon be adding a grandson to the recipe.  Should create an interesting flavor.

The ‘family of God’ is equally as complex. Paul urges the Ephesians to “be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.  Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.” (Ephesians 4:3)  It’s no wonder.  While we work together in the church to share the God news, we may be  confronted with a mixture of ethnic or religious backgrounds, personalities, and experiences.  Some members may be a little easier to love than others.  Some may present particular challenges.  At certain times, everyone needs a little more grace extended to them.  But, Paul says, when we use our gifts to build up the body, we ‘become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.’ (4:13b)  Like a good recipe, all of those individual  ‘flavors’ can create a powerful and irresistible combination.

Have you asked God to help you keep unity in the family?  Bon appetite!

Copyright 2010 Mary E. Egidio  Permission is granted to share this with others, with attribution, but not for commercial services.  (you can share it, but tell them who wrote it, where you got it, and don’t try to sell it)

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nancy Breen on July 7, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Such a meaningful and wonderful message.
    Your writings are so useful.
    Proud to be your friend.

    Reply

  2. What a great metaphor for joined families! I bet your soon-to-arrive grandson will be just the right spice to add to the family mix. =>

    Reply

  3. I’m taking some flack for saying ‘we’re learning to love our new son-in-law’. I should say we’re growing to love our new son-in-law… or every time I’m with my new son-in-law I find another reason to love him! He’s a fine young man, and we’re proud to have him as part of our family.

    mee 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

