A Well-Watered Garden

Like so many people these days, we are no strangers to corporate restructuring in our family.  My husband has survived several rounds of lay-offs at his current place of employment, but we never know what might happen next.  Last week, his department moved to a different floor of their building, following some new lay-offs.  Rumors were flying of even more to come.

When I went to pick him up on Friday after work, he was later than usual coming out.  I waited in the car, flipping through a magazine, struggling to keep from thinking the worst.  Finally he came out the door carrying a box, wearing a sheepish grin.  My heart sank for a moment.  I studied his eyes for a clue to his mood.

He opened the trunk lid and set the box inside.  Then it occurred to me.  “Please tell me that’s stuff that doesn’t fit in your new office.”   He laughed.  “Yeah, that’s stuff that doesn’t fit in my new office.”

We joke about it.  They refer to the company’s Human Resources person as the ‘angel of death.’  I won’t even tell you what he did to me on April Fools’ Day this year. (well, I will if you ask…)  But we know it could happen.  And we’ve seen it happen to far too many people these days.  And it’s not really funny.  We just laugh to keep from worrying too much.

We experienced it several years ago, only a few years after we’d moved to Florida.  Restructuring had eliminated his job. It was a difficult time in our lives.  We weren’t sure what the future was going to hold for us.  But a dear friend, who was facing a similar situation in her own life, gave me a mug with this Scripture on it:

“The Lord will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land, ….  You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.”  Isaiah 58:11 (NIV)

I don’t know about you, but when I read a promise in the Scripture, I take it personally.  Especially when it seemingly jumps out at me when I’m needing guidance and reassurance.  The words in this promise spoke to me, especially since we lived in ‘sun-scorched’ Florida.  I took them as a promise from God, a promise I held Him to (I’m kinda bold like that). They became words that helped me and my friend through the difficult days while waited for His will to be  revealed.

Like those days a few years ago, we don’t know what lies ahead.  None of us do, really. I just know that we have a God that will satisfy our needs.  It’s a promise.  I’m holding Him to it.

Leave a Reply

