Creeping Away

So I parked my car at the office the other morning and went inside.  My co-worker was already there, and I had brought her a birthday present.  I gave her the gift and we chatted briefly, then I remembered that I hadn’t unlocked the office door. When I grabbed my keys and headed in that direction, I was shocked to discover that my car had backed nearly all the way out of it’s parking spot!  It was creeping — so slowly I almost couldn’t detect the motion.  It’s a manual transmission, and obviously, I’d forgotten to pull the hand brake.

“And where do you think you’re going?” I asked, as I opened the door and jumped in.  (Now you KNOW it was moving slowly)  Fortunately for me, the smaller size and weight of the car and the slant of the parking lot kept it from really taking off or causing any damage to itself or anything else. (it was actually turning parallel to the building)  I know my physics-minded friends could explain that, given time and the proper circumstances, it could have developed enough momentum to make it to Orlando, but I was spared having to chase it down the interstate, thank you very much.

Sometimes my life creeps away from me like that car.  I get distracted.  I get too busy.  I over-commit myself.  I get lazy.  I procrastinate.  And slowly, without realizing it, and without meaning to, I can get off-course.  I know what is really important, what I need to be doing, but I find myself doing something else instead.

My car got the creeps that day because I was distracted from my normal routine. Okay, I confess… I was signing the birthday card to go with my friend’s present.  This was not a bad thing… it just distracted me from the better thing… setting the parking brake.

It’s no wonder that Paul, throughout his letters to the early churches, repeatedly warns the new believers to be alert, self-controlled, and strong.   He tells the Ephesians,  “Be very careful, then, how you life — not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.  Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.”  Ephesians 5:15-17 (NIV)   He warns Timothy to ‘guard what has been entrusted to your care.’  1 Timothy 6:20  (NIV)  We generally believe he was referring to spiritual battles against sin and temptation.  He could just as easily have been referring to those seemingly ‘good’ things that distract us from doing what is best.

Maybe I need to check to see if any areas of my life might be slowly creeping in the wrong direction… what about you?

Copyright 2010 – Mary E. Egidio  Permission is granted to share this work, but with attribution, and not for commercial purposes.

Leave a Reply

