Body Parts

I have a friend who insists that she was built on a Friday, after Quality Control had already left for the day. If that’s true, the right half of my body was built on a Thursday, but the left half on that same Friday. From head to toe, the left side of my body has, well, issues.  I like to joke that my left leg is twenty years older than my right leg.  My cardiologist recently told me the reason for a discrepancy on my EKG is that the left side of my heart is basically wired backwards. Doesn’t surprise me!

The human body was wonderfully designed by our Creator. It is so inter-connected that when my six-foot five son smashes his little finger at work, the rest of his body stays awake half the night in sympathy.

Paul reminds us that the community of believers is like a body — the body of Christ.  He explains the importance of every member doing his or her part:

“It was he who gave some to be apostles, some to be prophets, some to be evangelists, and some to be pastors and teachers, to prepare God’s people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.” Ephesians 4:12-13 (NIV – emphasis mine)

Because my left eye does not function properly in conjunction with my right eye, I lack depth perception, which makes parking cars a challenge.  And even worse, 3-D movies just look blurry to me, even with the special glasses on!   Our unity, our maturity, the depth to which we understand Jesus, depend on all the body parts functioning together to their full purpose.  When the parts aren’t working properly, even one small part, we can miss out on the “whole measure of the fullness of Christ.”

But here’s a scary thought:  I might be the reason someone else is missing out on this same level of maturity!

To perform to our full potential and to build up the rest of the body, I believe we need to understand the unique gifts, talents and abilities God has given us, then develop and use those strengths.  If we’re open, God will lead us to our perfect role.

As the commercial said, “parts is parts!”  Which part are you?

Copyright 2011 – Mary E. Egidio – Permission is granted to share this post, but with attribution, and not for commercial purposes. (yes, you can share it, but please tell where you got it, and don’t sell it, please!)

Leave a Reply

