Master of the Universe

Hubble Space Telescope images

We recently visited the Kennedy Space Center while on vacation.  It’s always one of my favorite attractions here in Florida.  My husband and I are both fans of astronomy and space flight, and the displays never cease to amaze and fascinate us.  We watched an Imax movie about the Hubble Space Telescope (in 3D, no less!) and sat enthralled while Leonardo DiCaprio described the images of galaxies that lie unimaginable distances from our own.  One nebula contained what scientists call a “galaxy nursery,” where they believe new galaxies are being formed.  Tears ran down my cheeks.  I was thinking three things:

One:  If in my lifetime we went from simply trying to orbit the earth successfully (yes, now I’m showing my age) to being able to capture images billions of miles away, what amazing discoveries will my grandson witness in his lifetime?

Two:  From Job 38, where the Lord speaks to Job in answer to his questioning:   “Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation?  . . . while the morning stars sang together?  Have you ever given orders to the morning, or shown the dawn its place? . . . What is the way to the abode of light? And where does darkness reside?  . . . Have you entered the storehouses of the snow?” (NIV)  Feeling a bit small, there, Mr. Job?  Well you should.

Three:  And here’s the most amazing thought:  this same God who in His infinite creativity has crafted millions of stars and planets that stretch out across the vast expanse of space – He knows my name.  Yes, and yours, too.  He speaks to me in His Word.  He loves me, even in my most un-loveliness, and made a way for all of us to receive His forgiveness and grace through the sacrifice of His Son on the cross.

In Isaiah, He says, “For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.  Do not be afraid . . . for I myself will help you, declares the Lord, your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel.” Isaiah 41:13 (NIV)

The same hand that formed the universe takes hold of my hand.  I scarce can take it in.

Copyright 2011  Mary E. Egidio  – Permission is granted to reproduce this post, but with attribution, and not for commercial purposes.

2 responses to this post.

  1. You need to listen to Dan Brown’s presentation at Chautauqua this summer. It brings forth the questions of religion and science and how they interplay. It was so outstanding my collegiate son ran back to the house, grabbed his DaVinci Code book, and ran back to have him sign it. Two miracles there (a) my son attended an evening performance at the amphitheatre, and (b) he would be moved enough to respond in that fashion (and had the actual book). I have listened several times now to it on my Pod.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Steve Egidio on January 30, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    We have not even begun to fathom the shallows of God’s vast creation of this little blue-green ball upon which we live, let alone, even imagine what lies beyond it in the vastness of the great wide and deep limitless universe.

    Reminds me of the hymn that reads. . . .

    Immortal, invisible, God only wise,
    In light inaccessible hid from our eyes,
    Most blessed, most glorious, the Ancient of Days,
    Almighty, victorious, thy great name we praise.

    Unresting, unhasting, and silent as light,
    Nor wanting, nor wasting, thou rulest in might;
    Thy justice like mountains high soaring above
    Thy clouds which are fountains of goodness and love.

    To all life thou givest to both great and small;
    In all life thou livest, the true life of all;
    We blossom and flourish as leaves on the tree,
    And wither and perish but nought changeth thee.

    Great Father of glory, pure Father of light,
    Thine angels adore thee, all veiling their sight;
    All laud we would render: O help us to see
    ‘Tis only the splendour of light hideth thee.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

